Fri. Apr 23rd, 2021

Arjun Tendulkar, son of legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar, has secured a place in the Mumbai team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Mumbai’s team was announced on Saturday, in which all-rounder Arjun Tendulkar and fast bowler Krutik Hanagavadi have been included. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will start from January 10. Neither domestic or international cricket match has been organized in India for more than eight months due to the Coronavirus. This will be the first home series in India since Covid pandemic started.

ALSO READ | Dale Steyn Pulls Out Of IPL 2021; Here’s How RCB Reacted!

Mumbai’s team is in Group E of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy which also includes teams from Delhi, Haryana, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry. Mumbai will play their group matches on 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 January. The knockout matches will take place in Ahmedabad.

According to a report published in the Times of India, a source from the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) revealed that all teams have been asked to choose a squad of 22 players, who will be part of the bio-secure bubble. Once the bubble is created, no net bowlers will be included in the team from outside. This is the reason why MCA included two more fast bowlers in the form of Arjun Tendulkar and Hanagavadi. Arjun Tendulkar has played for India Under-19 team.

Shreyas Iyer is not in the Mumbai team. The right-handed batsman suffered a shoulder injury during India’s tour of Australia. The new selection committee of Mumbai under the chairmanship of Salil Ankola has elected Suryakumar Yadav as the captain. Aditya Tare will be the vice-captain of Mumbai. All teams playing in the tournament will be added to the bio-secure bubble on Sunday.

Mumbai Squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Aditya Tare (Vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Sarfaraz Khan, Siddhesh Lad, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Sujit Nayak, Sairaj Patil, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Prathamesh Dake, Atharva Ankolekar, Shashank Attarde, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, Akash Parkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Arjun Tendulkar, Krutik Hanagavadi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *