Sat. Apr 10th, 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore has always been a flamboyant side since the inception of IPL in 2008. They had the likes of Gayle, Starc, Kohli and de Villiers in their side. But even after always having a strong team, RCB has failed to win the competition even once. Death Bowling and lower middle-order batting was a big concern in almost all the previous editions.

Looks like RCB has understood this fact and they seemed to have worked on their plans. They bought Kyle Jamieson and Dan Christian, two fast bowling all-rounders who can hit the ball a long way. The most talked about player after the auction was Glenn Maxwell who was bought for 14.25 crore rupees. Maxwell’s form in the IPL hasn’t been up to the mark but he has the ability to destroy the opposition by his sheer hitting ability.

It was an auction of two extremes for the RCB, a sort of a disparity was visible between the price tags of the players. They spent 34.05 crore rupees in buying three players overseas players but they got the uncapped Indian players for a big bargain price. They bought five uncapped players at their base price thus spending just one crore on five good players.

Mohammed Azharuddeen of Kerala was a real steal! He has recently scored a century of 37 balls in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and has the attention of the observers of Indian cricket. Same story with Sachin Baby and Rajat Patidar.

The only problem that can occur with RCB is the selection of overseas players in the playing eleven. As IPL rules allow only four overseas players it will be a tad bit difficult for Kohli to pick the final four. Nonetheless, it is a good problem to have for any captain.


Royal Challengers Bangalore Full Squad: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Philippe, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pavan Deshpande, Kyle Jamieson (15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (14.25 crore), Dan Christian (4.8 crore), Sachin Baby (20 lakh), Rajat Patidar (20 lakh), Mohammed Azharuddeen (20 lakh), Suyash Prabhudesai (20 lakh), KS Bharat (20 lakh)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *