Wed. Jan 27th, 2021

Virat Kohli-led Team India square off against Aaron Finch-led Australia in the first of the 3-match T20I series against Australia at the Manuka Oval in Canberra in a few hours from now.

India are slated to play 3-T20Is against Australia as part of their white ball leg of the all-format tour. While the first ODI is being played at the Manuka Oval, the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) will serve as the venue for 2nd and 3rd T2OIs. The visiting Indian team would look to draw even with Australia after losing the ODI series 1-2 to the hosts.

India will take some confidence going heading into the 3-match T20 series on the back of their solitary win in the 3rd and final game of the ODI series at Canberra.

India also have tasted success against the ‘Kangaroos’ in the T20 format in the home team’s turf, winning five out of the nine T20 internationals.

The India-Australia rivalry is set to resume once again with world class players on either sides raring to execute their skills with the willow and white cherry in the high octane T20 series.

ALSO READ | IND vs AUS, 1st T20I: ‘Men In Blue’ To Lock Horns With ‘Aussies’ Today In Series Opener At Manuka Oval

Ahead of the opening encounter of the 3-match T2OI series, here is a look at the top run scorers and leading wicket takers from the T20I encounters between India and Australia.

Top Run Scorers

Indian skipper Virat Kohli is the leading run getter for India in T20Is against Australia. The prolific run scorer has registered 584 runs against the Aussies. Australian skipper Aaron Finch is the top run scorer for his team in T20Is against India with 405 runs.

Most Tons

Glen Maxwell and Shane Watson have scored a ton each against India in T20 internationals. There is yet to be a hundred registered by an Indian batsman against Australia in T2OIs. Virat Kohli’s unbeaten knock of 90 is the highest score by Indian against Australia in T20Is.

Most 50s

Indian skipper Virat Kohli leads the charts for the most 50s by a batsman in India vs Aus T20Is with 6 half centuries.

Leading Wicket Takers

India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is the leading wicket taker against Australia in T20Is with 15 wickets. Former Australian seam all-rounder Shane Watson heads the wicket taking charts for Australia in T20 internationals with 10 wickets.

Among the current crop of Australian cricketers, leg spinner Adam Zampa leads the wicket taking charts for Australia in T20Is with 6 wickets.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *