Sun. Mar 7th, 2021

England have announced a strong 16-member squad for the first two matches of the four-match Test series against India. For the first two Tests to be held in Chennai, a 16-member team has been announced under the leadership of Joe Root. Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes and opener Rory Burns have returned to the team. Star players Johnny Bairstow, Sam Curan and Mark Wood have been benched for the first two Tests against India. England cricket team is slated to play four Test, five T20Is and three ODI matches on Indian tour.

ALSO READ | ‘Aakhir Maa Baap…’: Virender Sehwag Reacts To Shubman Gill’s Father’s Comment

In a statement issued by the England and Wales cricket Board, it has been declared that Ollie Pope will join the team if he gets match-fit. James Bracey, Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Robinson and Amar Virdi will be with the team as reserve players.

The England team is currently on a tour of Sri Lanka and are yet to play the last match of the two-match Test series. 

The 4-Test series between India and England will start from February 5. The first and second Test matches will be played in Chennai. The second Test match will start on 13 February. After this, there will be a day-night test from February 24 at the new Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad and the last Test of the series will be played on this ground on March 4. After the Test series, the five-match T20 series will begin from March 12. Finally, a 3-match ODI series will be held from 23 March.

England Men’s Test Squad: Joe Root (Yorkshire) (captain), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Dom Bess (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

Reserves: James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Amar Virdi (Surrey).

India Men’s Test Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *