Fri. Apr 16th, 2021

Virat Kohli-led Indian team will lock horns with Australia in a three-match T20I series, which gets underway on Friday (December 4) with the 1st T20I to be played at the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

After being handed a 2-1 defeat by the hosts, the ‘Men In Blue’ would look to put behind their series loss in the 50-over format and look to even out things with a win in the upcoming T20 international series. The visitors had something to cheer about after winning the third and final ODI at the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

The two heavyweight in T20 cricket will take on each other in a T20 international series for a fifth straight year in a row. The last T20I series between India and Australia played ‘Down Under’, ended in a 1-1 draw.

ALSO READ | India vs Australia, 3rd ODI Highlights: India Avoid Humiliating Whitewash With 13-Run Win Over Australia At Manuka Oval

India vs Australia T20 Series Schedule

The 3-match India vs Australia T20 international series will get underway on December 4 with the opening match to be played at the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

The second and third T20Is will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground on December 6 and Dec 8. The SCG also happened to be the venue for the first two ODIs of the recently concluded 3-match ODI series.

Match     Date    Venue                                                     Timing

1st T2OI  Dec 4  Manuka Oval, Canberra                             1:40 pm (IST)

2nd T2OI Dec 6 Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney               1:40 pm (IST)

3RD T2OI Dec 8 Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney              1:40 pm (IST)

Team Changes


Australia will play the T20I series without two of their seasoned campaigners in David Warner and Pat Cummins. While opener David Warner will be unavailable due to a groin injury, pace spearhead Pat Cummins has been rested for the Test series. Batsman turned all-rounder D’Arcy Short will join the T20 squad. Andrew Tye is likely to be part of playing XI during the T20Is.


Indian team will also have a bit of a different look to their side from the ODI series as opener Shubman Gill, seamer Shardul Thakur and chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav would not feature in the three T20Is. Gill and Kuldeep are members of Test team have been wisely rested for the 4-match Border Gavaskar Trophy.

Full Squads For IND vs AUS T20I Series

Indian squad for T20Is: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

Australia squad for T20Is: Aaron Finch (Captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *